This year marks 110 years since DUKES LONDON first opened its distinguished doors. One of Mayfair’s most celebrated hotels, the five-star bolthole in St. James’s Place first opened in 1908 as a hotel for dukes and aristocracy.
To celebrate reaching this milestone, we are offering guests the chance to experience our renowned hospitality for an unmissable £110 per night, including commemorative amenity in the room.
Available every Sunday during September 2018 for DUKES room category (exclusively).BOOK NOW
Bursting with history and with many a story to tell, the building DUKES occupies was originally built around 1890 as the London Chambers for the sons of Britain's aristocracy, until it became DUKES Hotel in 1908. It began life as a hotel for dukes and other members of the aristocracy who appreciated its proximity to the Court of St. James's. Guests who wanted to be seen stayed elsewhere, DUKES was a discreet hotel. A sentiment that very much holds true today.
The historic courtyard at DUKES has been traced back to 1532 when King Henry VIII bought a convent at the bottom of the hill. In its place, he built St. James’s Palace as a hunting lodge and refuge from court politics. From 1660 onwards, St. James's Place, the street where DUKES is located, became highly fashionable, housing elegant coffee houses which were the forerunners of today's Gentlemen's Clubs.
The hotel is the closest property from the Clarence House (the official residence of Prince Charles and Camilla, the Duchess of Cornwall) and Spencer House, which belongs to the Spencer family and is London's only great 18th century town house to survive intact. Guests don’t have to venture far to be immersed in the vibrant and rich history of this fabled corner of London.
Receive a £30.00 Voucher to spend in GBR (Great British Restaurant)*
*Valid to spend on either lunch or dinner food only
Valid until 31st March 2019, subject to availability.